IGCSE qualifications provide a solid foundation for higher level courses such as A and AS Levels, as well as excellent preparation for employment. IGCSE has been designed to equip students with the skills needed for immediate employment. A minimum requirement for a RSA Matriculation Certificate is: 5 IGCSE + 2 AS subjects.

Students need 7 subjects selected from the 5 IGCSE curriculum areas. The subjects selected must include two different languages from GROUP 1 and one subject from each of GROUPS 2, 3, 4 & 5. A seventh subject can be taken from any of the 5 subject groups. No candidate who has taken fewer than six IGCSE subjects will be awarded a CAIE certificate.

A wide range of subjects are available and these are grouped into 5 curriculum areas:

Subjects offered:

GROUP 1: Languages

  • English 1stlanguage
  • Afrikaans 2ndlanguage
  • French Foreign – depending on demand
  • IsiZulu Foreign – depending on demand
  • Portuguese Foreign – depending on demand

GROUP 2Humanities and Social Sciences

  • Geography – depending on demand

GROUP 3Sciences

  • Biology
  • Physics
  • Chemistry

GROUP 4Mathematics

  • Core Mathematics
  • Extended Mathematics

GROUP 5: Creative, Technical and Vocational

  • Accounting
  • Art & Design
  • Business Studies
  • Computer Science